http://prezi.com/embed/rgt8j4qjtpsm/?bgcolor=ffffff&lock_to_path=0&autoplay=no&autohide_ctrls=0

Move over PowerPoint – there’s a new presentation tool in town! And it don’t just do linear either!

If you’ve visited my Profile Page you will have seen I’ve used a rather nifty presentation tool to display my information! I created this using the free Public online version of Prezi, ‘the zooming presentation editor’. It’s incredibly easy to use – you select and place frames, then upload and position your content. You can add text, images, pdfs and .flv videos, which play as soon as you click on them, but also have control buttons. Unsurprisingly, bitmap images appear very pixelated when you zoom into them – as this is a flash-based product I’m guessing vector graphics would look better – another thing to try! For navigation, you can create a path which will play your presentation in a set order, or you can let users navigate around themselves as I have for my profile.

You can create groups and collaborate on presentations, although I haven’t tried this yet. I embedded my finished presentation, although there is also an option to download or present directly from the Prezi site. Apparently, if you download it, it works very well with remote clickers, but again I haven’t tried this yet…

If you choose to pay for an ‘Enjoy’ or ‘Pro’ license, you have more control over who can see your presentations, remove the watermark and, with ‘Pro’, the ability to work offline and greater storage space. However, at the moment I’m quite impressed with the freebie…

So, in short, Prezi is free, easy and fun to use. Expect to see many Prezis on the conference circuit this year! :o)

