This year I’ve decided to use this blog to document the work I do. Although we’ve all been submitting weekly work records for a while now, I think this will prove useful for several reasons. So, to last week…

It snowed alot – even here! We were greeted with an email telling staff to make every effort to get to work – I wonder just how much support employers would give to those who injured themselves severely trying to do this?

Work-wise, I attended a Xerte demonstration presented by Joan. Xerte is an e-learning development environment created by clever bods at Nottingham University. There’s a few glitches but on the whole it looks pretty good. I’d like to try it for myself so will pencil in some time in the next week or so.

Fran asked me to remind her how to access and add content to the extranet’s CMS. While going through it we discovered that I seem to be the only person who can add content to the new Teaching and Learning Directorate area – need to get this sorted urgently!

I’m teaching BSc Cruise Management Final Year students for two hours on Tuesday, so needed to prepare my lesson plan and make sure my workbooks are up-to-date. They have to create a website which showcases a UoP student on placement on a cruise ship; reports on the 2nd International Cruise Conference and advertises the BSc Cruise Management course. My role is to teach them how to plan and create their sites, using Dreamweaver and Fireworks. This will be the third year I’ve done this – examples from last year are on the University’s website.

