It’s very easy to get excited by free Web 2.0 tools – and my head is hung in shame!

You may have noticed that I’ve removed ‘In at the Deep End’ from Issuu. This is because I’d assumed we had permission to publish it externally – but not so! In the spirit of learning through mistakes – please REMEMBER TO CHECK COPYRIGHT AND IPR LICENSES BEFORE YOU PUBLISH – IF IN DOUBT, DON’T DO IT!

It’s very easy these days to publish, download, modify and embed content from the web, and, with the increasing use of open educational resources, it is imperative that people understand that it is not a free-for-all. Now I’m not going to pretend that I’m an expert in copyright and IPR – it’s a very complicated area. (Please see the TEL website for further guidance, especially when creating your own resources; you might also want to check your contract of employment to see what rights your employer holds over content you produce). However, I do think that, as educators, we really need to help our students and each other, by providing clear information about how our online resources can be used – I shall certainly be adding this sort of information to anything that I create that can be downloaded/ embedded.

Another thing I suspect we’re all pretty bad at is actually reading the terms and conditions for using these Web 2.0 tools – dull eh? BUT really important! I’ve heard quite a few people are now creating Prezis and Issuu publications and I’m really pleased that people are finding my posts inspiring. But please do check the small print though to make sure you’re not giving away content blindly – here’s the terms of use regarding copyright on Issuu and Prezi but bear in mind is that these services are hosted from the US, and copyright law is slightly different here in the UK.

This video, ‘Web 2.0, IPR and You’ is by the JISC Web2Rights Project – you will find detailed information and advice about these issues on their site including an IPR & Legal Issues Toolkit that you can download.

Licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 UK: England and Wales

