Having successfully managed to embed media into SharePoint Module and Programme sites (please see previous post), I decided to re-create the myBrand webfolio as an e-book (and rebrand it under the name ‘eGo’). Ideally I wanted to make a truly interactive experience – a book with pages that flip (as Issuu does) with embedded video …and fully functioning Prezi presentations. However, I don’t think it’s possible to produce anything that sophisticated yet (please tell me if you know differently!) so I’ve explored a few options using InDesign CS5, setting up a landscape A4 ‘book’ with 27 facing pages to create the pdfs…

Experiment One: Create an interactive PDF

InDesign CS5 enables you to add lots of interactive features such as animations and embedded video. This Adobe TV video gives a good overview…

Now I would publish the interactive pdf I created – however as it’s 18.1 MB I can’t upload it anywhere as the limit for WordPress is 2MB and PebblePad is 10MB – so, if our staff and students want to create these, we already have a problem! Having said that, I haven’t explored the pdf export options too much – so maybe it can be compressed more…

Experiment Two: Create an e-Book that can be embedded into webpages…

OK, technically I’ve already done this one – although this time I forgot I had created an interactive PDF so when I uploaded it to Issuu (which took ages) it displayed it as a four-page spread… However, once I realised and removed the embedded .flv videos, it uploaded and displayed fine.

Here’s the final result…

Experiment Three: Create an i-Book that can be viewed on an iDevice

I followed this tutorial…

It seems simple enough but for some reason InDesign told me “Cannot Export eGo.indd”. Export Failed.

Soo.. I tried converting my pdf using Calibre (see Edd’s post for his review). If you just plug it in it will displays the pdf nicely …but converting it into an ePub iBook is really complicated – and the end result not that good!

calibreePubSo, still some work to do! If anyone else has been investigating creating eBooks, particularly in the ePub format, or interactive pdfs, please let me know – especially if you can suggest any solutions to the problems I’ve been having!

