Initial thoughts on BYOD4L and connecting… 

 

I’ve signed up ( a bit late) to do the ‘Bring Your Own Device 4 Learning’ course as this is an area that interests me and I really enjoy (and learn a lot from) being part of an online learning community using social media tools. What has already impressed me is the encouragement for engaging via a range of platforms – this is something I would like to try in the future with DigiThings, an online course we’re currently running to give people an opportunity to explore presentation tools.

Our task for this topic is to think about how the following scenario fits with our practice.

The teacher scenario is familiar to me as my role involves researching, evaluating and demonstrating to academic staff how technology can enhance learning …and teaching and research. I’ve been doing this for years and it has been interesting to see attitudes change – although lack of time is always an issue.

I’m now mainly based in the Faculty of Arts & Humanities. Quite a few academics use Facebook groups with their students. Some also encourage their students to blog about their work. It would be interesting to hear if other disciplines do this as Arts in particular is very much about sharing and publicising your work. Social media can also be great for recruitment!

As for my ‘use of smart devices to connect with others for learning and teaching’ – I probably spend far too much time staring at a screen of one sort or another! I have an obsession with free tools so have lots of social media accounts, but mainly connect via Twitter, Google+ and this blog.

Well, that’s it for this post… I’ll try and catch up with the next one now! Looking forward to the rest of the week…

 

 

