Notes and thoughts, including my presentation about DigiThings, from the JISC RSC SW TurboTEL event on 10th June 2014. 

 

 

http://app.emaze.com/455650/digithings#slidenum=1Powered by emaze

I said I would use emaze again!

This was my contribution to a great day of knowledge and experience sharing.  It was great to catch up with friends and meet new people. The JISC SW Team organised a really useful event.

Despite being after 2 awesome presentations delivered brilliantly by Bex Ferriday and avoiding a potential technical problem (huge thanks to Dan McCaffrey and Tracey Morris for sorting!) …and also being just before lunch,  my presentation seemed to go well. I was glad to answer questions and pleased that people seemed genuinely interested in what I had to say. Hopefully I’ve passed on some useful advice…

Highlights for me included the aforementioned Bex (Learning Technology Manager, Cardiff University) who took us through the ‘Tech Commandments‘ and then explained ‘PechaKucha Whatcha?‘, both featuring her favourite, Dr Who.

Using badges in Moodle to show achievement‘ – Rebecca Barrington (Learning Technologies Manager, South Devon College) showed implementing and creating badges is easy and popular with students, although can also be perceived as condescending. It highlighted the importance of  being clear about what you are awarding badges for.

I learned that moodle.net is a great place to download complete courses and individual templates and components from Dan Jeffries (Online Learning Co-ordinator, Access to Music, Lincoln).

…And I found a kindred spirit – Virginia Power (JISC Digital Media Collection Adviser/ Lecturer, University of West of England) took us through a tour of her favourite ‘mainly free’ tools and resources during ‘I am Wow: Impact Assessment and Measurement with the X factor!‘ Loads of stuff to check out!

Presentations have now been published and can be accessed here. Despite a few technical hiccups, JISC TurboTEL 14 was a very enjoyable and inspiring day!

 

